Hells Race Round 1 of the Indian Motorcycle European Championship

Lelystad Stadium Sunday 5th May 2019.

Round One Indian Motorcycle European Championship

Dirttrack Lelystad in Holland hosted the first ever Indian Motorcycle European Championship during the amazingly popular annual Hells Race meeting. Over 150 riders raced classes including Hooligan, Vintage, Pro, Amateur, Newbie and Minibike. The program was action packed with some fantastic racing around the deep, tight shorttrack.

All three championship classes provided some amazing action and with riders from nine countries, the event had a truly international feel. Special guest Motoanatomy's Johnny Lewis flew in from the USA to launch the action and treated race fans to a special Demo on the Indian Motorcycles FTR750 race bike

Photo: Mark Meijering

The Pro Class particularly was packed with Europe’s top dirt track riders, with a large showing from the Greenfield Dirttrack Team based in the UK, coupled with a strong field of other top riders from the Spain, the UK, Netherlands, Italy and Poland. The heats provided really tight racing. It was Ferran Sastre who was the only rider to win all his heats and took first pick for the Pro Final. Sastre had some very strong competition from Maikel Dijkstra who was fresh from training with Moto Anatomy's Johnny Lewis and was showing some excellent pace on his home track. Both Toby Hales (Greenfield Dirttrack) and Gerard Bailo (Greenfield Dirttrack) flew in from riding Copa Rodi in Spain the day before. Franc Sala was also racing well and taking heat wins. In the Pro final it was Ferran Sastre who raced with superb skill to win, with Maikel Dijkstra taking a very close second and Sala third giving the Spanish riders a strong presence on the podium. With an overall prize for the winner of the 2019 series being a fully funded race in the USA with Johnny Lewis's Motoanatomy team the competition promises to be this intense at all the rounds.

Pro Class (Sponsored by Motoanatomy)

1) Ferran Sastre - Spain

2) Maikel Dijkstra - Netherlands

3) Franc Sala - Spain

4) Toby Hales - UK

5) Gerard Bailo - Spain

Photo: Steve Cain

The vintage Class had a massive entry with some really close racing on some of Europe’s most beautiful vintage machines. German rider Martin Huning was on fire in all his heats on his Panther XR750 Harley Davidson and won the finaI. In second place was the loud 750 Triumph raced by UK Rider Anthony Brown who was very strong in all his heats. And in third place was the Triumph of Swiss rider Michel Colaizzi, great racing by Michel.

Vintage Class

1) Martin Huning - Germany

2) Anthony Brown - UK

3) Michel Colaizzi - Switzerland

4) Sean Kelly - UK

5) Christophe Canitrot - France

Photo: Steve Cain

The hooligan class did not disappoint. Racing was fast and tough. The big bikes were hard to handle on the tight and deep short track, and rain during the afternoon made the racing really tricky. It was Gary Birtwistle who skilfully led the final from beginning to end. After a poor start Max hunt managed to race his Ducati to a very well deserved second place. Leah Tokelove, who raced superbly in her heats on the Indian Scout took a well earned third place on the podium, giving the UK first, second and third positions.

Hooligan Class

1) Gary Birtwistle -UK

2) Max Hunt - UK

3) Leah Tokelove - UK

4) Jonathan Falkman - Sweden

5) James Smith - UK

Photo: Mark Meijering


© 2019 Dirt Track Riders Association Limited